British GP Silverstone 2010

British GP Silverstone 2010
Hamilton gets pushed to the second row ready to start the British GP

Thursday, 25 March 2010

2010 Volkswagen Racing Cup Preview

2010 Volkswagen Racing Cup

Back for its tenth season on the British motorsport calendar, the VW Cup is expecting record grids and the need for a reserve list, when the season kicks off at Oulton Park on Easter weekend. The series, which benefits from its inclusion on the (SRO) British F3/British GT package, is anticipating reaching the 34 car limit which applies to the Cheshire circuit. The 14 race series will include an international event at Zandvoort in May, and will again allow participants to experience all of the top UK race venues.
2008 and 2009 champion Joe Fulbrook is not one of those registered to compete in this year’s championship, although last year’s second and third place men, Beetle driving Steve Chaplin and Aaron Mason in a Golf, will be hoping to be front running again this term. The Cup sees a great mix of VW models from right across the range including various Golf models, Beetles, Sciroccos, Polos, a Vento and even a Caddy TDi van, as driven in last years series by Peter Wyhinny. The Caddy will this year be in the hands of Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles Director Simon Elliott, as Wyhinny, Managing Director of Seat UK (there is a pattern developing here, no it isn’t a corporate team building exercise, it’s serious), has a new charge, in the shape of a super quick Seat Leon Cupra, the first time a non VW badged car has entered the Championship, expect it to go well pace wise, although it will not be eligible to score points, as it is entered as a promotional exercise by the VW subsidiary.
The series is a draw for people who wish to test themselves in a competitively priced, well regarded series, and can also be used as a springboard, as reflected by last term category star Liam Griffin graduating to the Porsche Carrera Cup GB with a drive at Dave Bartrum’s crack Motorbase squad. The machine that he is vacating, a fabulous looking 2 litre Scirocco R (which I witnessed him roll at Island Bend, Oulton Park last year, his second big shunt of the day), will be driven by brother Kieran this term.
Other drivers who will feature at the sharp end will be 2009 race winners Paul Taylor, Didge Dziurzynski and Mike Kurten, while James Walker, Anna Walewska, Peter Felix and Darren Blumson will be there or thereabouts at the business end of the season.
Truth is, in the absence of Fulbrook, the series is wide open. Highly respected national racing commentator and Autosport columnist Marcus Pye describes it as: ' …the best-looking and most competitive multi-model marque series on the current national calendar.' I certainly wouldn’t disagree, bring it on.

No comments: